rebeccaf.reismee.nl

Final words

This will be my last post from Nairobi. I'm at the airport now, waiting for the flight back to Amsterdam. 2h to wait.

The last week was again: awesome. We started off the weekend with a trip to a volcano, Mount Longonot. After a really hard 1h walk we reached the crater. The view was amazing, but it was also a strange feeling to stand there, because if you would fall into the crater you'll probably be dead. But we all survived ;) We also spotted some Zebras, Buffaloes and Giraffes, which is always a pleasure to see.

Sunday we went to a church in the hope for some really entertaining gospel choirs. But we were a little disappointed, because the music was just bad (the people and choir could not sing, and they were probably confused by the pianist who was not able to hit one note correctly). The preacher was also a bit strange, as he proposed that our sins would not be forgiven. Probably we ended up with a sect? Anyway, we were happy to leave and chilled the rest of the day in the sun.

In the week I went to school again. Up to now, I raised 520€ for the Top Mark High School, which I already donated directly to the principal. Biology and physics supplies could be bought. The teachers were paid. The lunch for the kids is ensured for some more weeks. So again, a great "thank you" for all donations! This week was furthermore pretty relaxed. The 3rd graders were having their end-of-the-year exams, so I just had 2 classes a day. The exam I wrote for the 3rd graders was mastered very well by some students, but unfortunately pretty poor by the most students. I could really see that the level there is not comparable to a German 11th grade. I just hope that they will do better next year, but this is sadly beyond my power.

On Friday, the school invited all volunteers for a lunch. It turned out that they even organized a real celebration ceremony for me! It was amazing. First, we had some food (like waaaay too much). People here always eat all kinds of carbohydrates together: Rice with potatoes and a sort of pancake. Losing weight is absolutely impossible, and obesity is actually a real problem here! There are sooo many ladies with huuuuge butts! But anyway, after the food, some students, the principal, the founder, and the founder's best friend speeched about their thankfulness for me being there. They said that they would see me as a gift from heaven, as an angel who came there to save Top Mark from stranding, and as a mother who gave birth to the school. They were just so thankful. They also gave us so many presents. It was really great to be blessed so much and to see that I could really leave an impact on the school.

Wednesday we went out to the local karaoke bar. It was just sooo much fun! We sang "Girls just wanna have fun", "Hit the road", "My heart will go on" and many others I can't remember... For every song we got a free shot of Wodka ;) We went home at 1, which was apparently too late for our organization. The punishment came the next day: They took away our TV and forbid us to return after 10pm, otherwise we could search ourselves a night stay. WHAT? At least I'm away now and don't have to struggle with their strange rules and the disgusting food, but I am really sorry for those who are still there for some weeks...

Yesterday we went to Nairobi, to the city park where you can feed some monkeys. They were actually really aggressive, jumping on us and trying to steal the entire packages of peanuts :D but they were also really cute. Afterwards we went to our favorite coffee house, where we invited ourselves for the best banana milkshake ON EARTH! (Not kidding).

Today we tried another church, hoping for a better choir, but the preacher just preached for 1h, and they did not sing. A pity that we could not experience the real black gospel feeling! We exchanged the last pictures, watched the last movie, ate the last Kikuyu lunch - and now I'm here, ready for my flight!

Above all, it was such a great experience! One really short pro - con evaluation...

1) What I'll will remember negatively: the stinking air, the rubbish everywhere, the baaad quality of the streets, the boring food & almost daily diarrhea, the African organization, the fact that everyone tries to trick you - especially on the matatu, and the fact that everyone associates "money" with white people.

2) What I'll remember positively: the kindness, helpfulness, interest and hospitality of the locals, the sun, the nature, the animals & the safari, the students with their aims and aspirations, the gratitude of the school, the volunteer group, our game nights, and the prices and availability of the matatus as compared to Dutch public transportation.

So thanks for everyone who was with me on this journey, who thought about me, who helped me with the project, or who just supported my idea. See you in NL or DE!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active