rebeccaf.reismee.nl

First school day

After another day being sick at home I could finally go to school today! I'm at a high school, which is grade 9-12. In the Netherlands/Germany this would translate to ages 15-18. Some of them are a bit older though (up to 23) because they sometimes have to save money for a while before they can go to school again. Anyway, this is a nice age for me to work with! The school itself is situated at a very poor area, and there are just 4 classes with about 15 students per class. There are 8 teachers, 1 for every topic. They teach English, Maths, Business studies, Religion, Chemistry, Physics, Biology, and Swahili. First I attended the biology class with Chris. The topic was digestion, and I really learned a lot about body juices. I then attended two English lessons with Nick. The first was about comparative and superlative, whereas the second was about adjectival clauses. Amazing how much I have forgotten since I left school. Find it really nice though to refresh some things! The last two hours I spent talking to Mary, the Swahili teacher. She really wants to become an EU citizen, so I told her that she should marry a EU man, which left her pretty discouraged as she did not expect that it would be so difficult. Everyone I talk to wants to travel to the Netherlands! They really love this country, and it's so nice to see that they have such dreams and aspirations. Also everyone wants to study at a university, and the students are so eager to learn and participate very actively. And all of them want to learn some German words! Tomorrow will be my first English class (about conditional sentences) and from 4 to 5 I will be allowed to sing a bit with the students! Looking forward to that! In the breaks I taught the students what a "selfie" is, and they love it! The way home was also exciting. It's unbelievable how many persons fit into a 15 person matatu! I counted 22!! Rush hour exists here as well. I ride about half an hour. I had company today, but I'll be on my own in the future. I have to watch out for pick pockets a lot... But I hope it will be fine. Finally, I'll try to upload some photos. Hope it will work this time, otherwise I'll go to a Internet café in the weekend. So much for now! Starting to miss cheese a little bit... Would be nice to be welcomed back to Holland with a kaassoufflé ;)

Reacties

Reacties

Bekki

Meine liebe BK, es ist so aufregend zu lesen, was du alles erlebst! Wahnsinn, was das für Eindrücke sein müssen. Ich wünsche mir, dass du ganz fleißig mit deinen Schülern singen kannst - sie werden auf jeden Fall begeistert von dir sein :D Ich bin so froh, dass es dir wieder besser geht. Pass ganz doll auf dich auf, ich denk an dich :*

Vincent

Hi schat! Trots op je en leuk om je avonturen terug te lezen. Wat een andere weReld, moet erg indrukwekkend zijn.. De studenten zullen vast gek op je zijn en zullen morgen genieten van het zingen met zo'n kanjer! X

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active