rebeccaf.reismee.nl

Jambo!

Die ersten zwei Tage sind vorbei und viele Eindrücke sind gesammelt. Da ich nicht alles zweisprachig aufschreiben will, werde ich ab jetzt zu Englisch "switchen". De eerste twee dagen zitten erop! Omdat ik niet altijd alles in twee talen wil vertellen ga ik vanaf nu naar Engels switchen. So these were the first two days: The flight was awesome. I sat next two the probably only other two Germans in the entire airplane. I was picked up from the airport, and we had a 40 min drive to the village we live in, called Kikuyu. When I arrived the other volunteers were out partying in a local pub having the time of their stay. So I decided to go sleep, and at around 1 they returned. I had a really warm welcome as everybody gathered around my bed to tell me what an awesome night I've missed. Good timing! We are here with the 12 of us, of which 2 are Australian girls, whereas the rest is German! Did not expect that! The first day, Saturday, Rose, a girl working here, took me to a Western shopping mall in Nairobi to get a local mobile number with Internet access. The busses are very cozy, and there was loud music playing for entertainment. Why don't we have that? Back in Kukuyu I went to a fundraising party at an orphanage where the other volunteers work. The children are so lovely and immediately come to you. They love to be on pictures! Ismelda, our house maid, made us spaghetti and ketchup for dinner. Was ok. As everybody was still suffering from a little hangover we just watched some movies at night and went to bed at 10. Thanks to my ear plus I did not hear the dogs howling and had a lovely night. Today, Sunday, we went to a park in Nairobi. We had a picknick, played uno and I got my first tan. The sun today was really hot! On the bus back we've made some friends and the bus guy fell in love with my dimple and my sunglasses :D Kikuyu generally is a town with about 5000 citizens. Most of them seem to chill on the streets and sell just anything. People here burn their trash on the streets so there is a really strong smell in the air most of the time. When we walk around people often want to high - five us and children are also amazed to see white persons. And we are the only White's here in town. We can buy everything here. Just cheese is expensive, and the others are jealous that I brought choco paste and jam from home (best decision ever!). Tomorrow will be my first day at school. I am really excited, especially because I'm the only volunteer at a school. The others are at the orphanage or in a hospital. We will now play a game to end the day... So far, and don't forget to look at the first few pictures!

Reacties

Reacties

Marion

Succes morgen!

Blijf schrijven hoor, welke taal maakt me niet uit.
Leuk om je volgen.

Anja

Geweldig!!! Leuke verhalen en indrukken! Xxx

Bettina

Hey Rebecca, mooi verhaal! Heel veel plezier daar. Xx

Richard

Heel veel plezier op je eerste schooldag!!!! X

Lotte

Hi Bk, das klingt toll!! Viel Glück beim ersten Schultag! :*

Cynthia

Hee!! Fijn om te horen dat je veilig bent aangekomen en dat je t nu al naar je zin hebt!!
Ben erg benieuwd hoe het op school gaat!
Kus

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active